Fri, 12 Aug 2022

KUALA LUMPUR -- Malaysia has imposed travel restrictions on travelers from eight countries in a bid to stop the new Omicron variant from spreading to the country, Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin said on Wednesday.

The countries affected are South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, and Malawi, with non-citizens from these countries being barred from entering Malaysia, he told a press conference. (Malaysia-Travelers-COVID 19)

- - - -

SUVA -- Hundreds of tourists arrived in Fiji on Wednesday with the reopening of the country's international borders after a 20-month hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

It was a moment thousands of Fijians have been waiting for since COVID-19 triggered the closure of borders for almost two years. (Fiji-COVID-19-Tourism)

- - - -

TOKYO -- Japan confirmed its second case of the Omicron variant of the COVID-19 on Wednesday, the top government spokesman said.

A man in his 20s who arrived from Peru at Narita airport near Tokyo on Saturday was confirmed as infected with the Omicron variant, Chief Cabinet Secretary Hirokazu Matsuno said. (Japan-Omicron Case)

- - - -

CANBERRA -- Australia's leaders have committed to the country's coronavirus "suppression" strategy amid concerns over the Omicron variant.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison and state and territory leaders on Tuesday evening agreed to continue to pursue a strategy of suppression at a meeting of national cabinet. (Australia-COVID 19)

More Malaysia News

Access More

Sign up for Malaysia News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!